Man Plans, and God Laughs

I may not be able to post for a few days, since I’m going to be having surgery tomorrow and I don’t know how perky I’m going to be for awhile. But maybe I will rally and be one of those amazing blippers who photographs the complexity of her IV drip, or her pale toes peeking out from beneath the hospital sheets. Or maybe, as has been hinted, I will not have surgery at all. Apparently there is a shortage of ICU beds and staff, and I will not know til late tonight, or maybe even tomorrow morning, whether or not this is really going to happen. For weeks there has been endless prep and tests and invasions and anxiety and panic and craziness and tension, and now the gods are having a good chortle—the ultimate lesson in letting go. I can only laugh. Well, I can do lots of other things as well, and I am, including a couple hours of cleaning up the attic. That should be a clue as to my state of mind. I will be back as soon as I can.

Update, 7pm. No surgery tomorrow. Covid is doing a number on staff. I will be rescheduled at the earliest opportunity....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.