Soft Block Carving

Sue is making greeting cards from some of her watercolors and stamp art, based on soft block carving, and we decided to lay it out to document some of her process. Otherwise days pass and we ask ourselves what on earth we did with our time. 

One answer is that I have now watched The Velvet Queen five times, including once with Evan (who loved it) and twice with Sue (who loved it), and I may go for six. If it's a cult film, I've joined the cult. My favorite part is the wild yaks. I love Munier's expression of wildlife photography as part of a landscape. Rather than isolate the animal, he photographs the landscape of which the animal is a part, using the camouflage rather than working against it. I am fascinated by the work of Marie Amiguet, the cinematographer who made herself invisible throughout the process but whose camera-work and skillful editing made the whole film possible.

Thanks for the comments, hearts, and stars for the last 3 posts.What a great community this is. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.