Riding The Rails....

Today was a memorable day. My daughter and son-in-law had purchased a new boat and had to transport it from its former home on Lake Simcoe, through the Trent-Severn Waterway to Georgian Bay. 

Lock 44 on that system of lakes, rivers, and canals is The Big Chute Marine Railway, the only one in North America. It lifts boats out of the water onto a carriage and carries them on a track system up or down an incline of about 60 feet, and launches them back into the water. It is amazing to watch.

I had not yet seen the new boat and also wanted to see how this marine railway worked, so today, on my way home from the cottage, I met them there and rode in the boat with them as it was transferred from the top of the system down to the lower water level....Wow..what an experience. (first extra)

I had arrived at The Big Chute about an hour before they arrived, so had time to wander around and watch boats being transferred up from the lower level to the top, so I had a good idea of what to expect. The carriage runs on its tracks into the water; you drive your boat on and lift your motor up; then as the carriage starts its trip, the water drains off and your boat sits in a cradle on the deck ( in our case we seemed to also have a sling cradle with big yellow straps). En route, the carriage crossed the highway with its own railroad crossing lights and gate! How neat is that? At the other end,  the carriage runs into the water so that your boat floats again and off you go, merrily on your way!  Of course, I took a lot of photos - enough for another collage! (second extra)

What a day! I am now home for a day or so as I have my pre-op appointment at the hospital tomorrow and then the next day hope to return to the cottage for a last hurrah before my surgery next week. 

    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.