If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Spot the Spider.

The day started with me picking up Kat at the station.  She is down for the funeral having holidayed with Richard on the boat many times.  Home for lunch, then on to the studio to complete the printing of the Order of Service.

The printing turned out to be a slow job so I wandered down the lane looking for something for day 6 of my "30 days wild".  I took a number of shots of flowers not found near home.  Then I returned to the studio, just as I was about to go in I noticed a movement on the wall by the door.

The movement turned out to be (I think) a Zebra Jumping Spider  (Salticus scenicus).  This was a chance for something a bit different from the flowers and birds that are likely to dominate my 30 days.  Jumping Spiders as the name suggests hunt by pouncing on prey as a cat would.  They don't build webs as the method of hunting doesn't require them.  However, they do produce "silk" and anchor themselves before pouncing so that they can get back to where they were easily.  They also "abseil" if they want to lose height.
Zebra jumSalticus scenicus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.