Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Dahlia color

This is my favorite color of the dahlias that I have.  Dark burgundy and almost black in the center when it first opens and then it lightens up.  A full view in the extras.      The blooms are still making but I think that the heat is causing some distress as the leaves seem to be shriveling as they would do when the plant is moving toward the end of its cycle.   I have watered every day (unless it rained which is has not done for a couple of weeks now!).      I wondered when I planted them if they would last all summer but it may be they will not last through June.  

Even the zinnias are looking straggly on the lower leaves.  

Summer is South Carolina... hot and more hot.

I did get some dianthus planted in the rusty red wagon planter.   As soon as they start filling out I will post a photo...or maybe a photo of what it looks like now and then later when they are full.

Always a photo opportunity somewhere!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.