a town called E.

By Eej

Tree Full of Swallow

Last night, just as I had enough of feeling sorry for myself for a bit of water in the basement, a short FB status update caught my eye.
About a fire.
At first I didn't quite get it, but then I looked at the photos and it became clear; the beautiful, centuries old farm, home of my oldest sister and brother-in-law, (and my home away from home) was on fire. My great-niece (who lives next door with her parents) assured me everyone was safe, which relieved me to no end, but oh, what a disaster. I searched frantically for more updates, more photos, cursing my far-awayness.

This morning it became clear the damage is really, really bad. According to my niece there is not much left.
Such a f**king mess :(

To distract myself I went for a run before breakfast.
Then we watched tv.
Then we went to the Fish Hatchery and walked for a good hour.
Then the Universe send me a sunning turtle.
And many, many yellow-rumped warblers.
And red-winged blackbirds.

And a Tree Full of Swallows.



I can't even begin to comprehend; if I am already this distraught, how must my sister feel?



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.