a town called E.

By Eej

New and improved, now sugar-free

Slowly but surely I have come to the realisation that my relationship with sugar is much like how my relationship with cigarettes used to be a long time ago.
The cravings, the ultimate fix, the guilt.

I don't have many vices. An occasional alcoholic drink, no coffee, (black) tea in moderation. But sugary goodness - it's always been hard to say no to that, and lately I have not just been saying yes, I have been stuffing my face with it like every day is the last day it would be available. Chocolate, dropjes, cake, cookies.

And I'm typing this, and my brain says: "But, really, you deserve the occasional treat. It hasn't been THAT bad! Go on, make some brownies. You know you want to!"

No more.

I hated my dependency on cigarettes as much as I hate living with the idea that I can't function without chocolate.
So it's goodbye for now. I'm not saying I won't ever have any sweets again, but I am curious to see how I feel without that crutch, no, how much BETTER I'll feel without it.

Onwards and upwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.