An iris in Shirley's garden

G. rang this morning to say he couldn't come to stay today as planned because of a severe chest infection which wouldn't go away. We had planned that I'd pick him up from the station and drive to Shirley and Steve's home on the other side of town. Shirley and I have been friends since the early1970s and G got to know her a few years later.

I still went to see them and we had a wonderful three hours chatting in their garden sitting amongst beautiful trees and flowers,  We shared stories and news of mutual friends and laughed a lot until we got round to the subject of the imminent vote by his own political party on Boris Johnson's future. 

I took a few pictures of flowers and bees and I like this one best of all. The light was poor as it was very overcast and even drizzled for a short while, though we stayed put. I rather like the water droplets on the leaf on the edge of the frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.