CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Epiphyllum Red, or Disocactus ackermannii

I had a blip comment from a friend who had just posted a wonderful close-up image of a lupin, and I realised it was a submission to a Tiny Tuesday challenge. For ages I’ve forgotten about submitting entires to this challenge which I used to do regularly and enjoyed it.

Then I thought I could do one now, so went downstairs, put my macro lens on my camera and went outside. I had it in mind anyway to photograph my old epiphyllum which had been secretly flowering in the cabin for some weeks, without my noticing it. When I found it in a rather unwatered and dishevelled state I brought it out into the sunshine to revive it. Within a day or two it sent out a new flower stem which quickly unfurled. It will be the last one this year so I moved the plant onto the patio table and in the early evening light tried to find a suitable image for Tiny Tuesday despite my having to handhold the camera.

Having taken a few pictures I walked up the garden steps and looked at my olive tree and thought its flowers would be good subjects but they aren’t quite fully developed as yet. As I lookedI spotted a tiny spider hanging down behind an olive branch and pointed my lens at it. I’ve added it as an ‘Extra’, although it is a rather strange sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.