A commoner's horse runs on Minchinhampton Common

On my way to purchase some special cat food in Nailsworth I stopped on the top of Minchinhampton Common and went for a walk. I headed towards some cows with long horns, hoping to fins the highland cattle, but they seem to be absent this summer. 

As I stood watching the herds of varied breeds of cattle, all of which are the property of various commoners who have ancient rights allowing them to graze their cattle and other animals. 

There is a group of well known and popular horses which roam widely on the common accompanied by their attendant donkey, called Alfie. He is thought to be the boss and is quite grumpy. I spotted the group but realised that there were now eight horses in addition to Alfie. In previous years there were only five horses. Most of them wandered a few hundred yards across the common, which at this point happens to also serve as a golf course, to the water trough.

This horse was left behind and I saw it start to run as it passed the reservoir. It had a fine and elegant trotting style.

As I walked back to my car I heard a very loud mooing and turned quickly to see the very large cow close to the water trough. I snapped a picture which I've added to the 'Extras'. Do enlarge it and have a look at its eyes pointiung wildly in opposite directions. Given its large size  I think it must be pregnant. One year I drove across the common and saw a cow standing by one of the ramparts. Twenty minutes later on my return I saw it lying down and licking it's just born calf.

When I reached the car this other cow was having a fine time rubbing its head and neck against my wing mirror, gently I'm pleased to say! It is another 'Extra'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.