Glass bowl in local artists exhibition

The gallery in Lansdown Hall is having an exhibition for some local artists, who can each show two objects. Woodpeckers and I popped in after setting up our stalls at the nearby Shambles market early this evening. 

I have been very involved in the regeneration of this building since I was first a town councillor. The town council bought the building in about 2010 to save it from a likely redevelopment with the aimn of allowing it to become a parish hall for the town. This regeneration of this gallery was part of the first stage of the project, after I became the lead on the working group which has been active ever since. 

There will be a formal bid this month for funds to finish the building that would pay for stage four. Although I've not been a councillor since 2018 I have been invited to be a lay member of the working group. Today when we arrived the new curator of the gallery welcomed us and was very enthusiastic about the gallery and the possible completion of the hall's facilities, without knowing of my involvement, which was great to hear.

This bowl was one of the exhibits which I quickly snapped before we went home. I've added a wide shot of the gallery itself as an 'Extra', to show the interior.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.