Broad-bodied dragonfly at the Green Shop pond

I went to fill up with fuel at the Green Shop Garage, which is very close to my favourite farm-shop in Bisley, where I'd already bought some lovely new colourful Cosmos-like pot plants. Having refuelled I topped up the air in my tyres and could overlook the pond they've built by the forecourt and their shop.

Roger, the owner, is a friend from when I visited Bisley back in the 1980/90s. Two years ago he pointed out the dragonfly nymph carcasses on the reed in the pond. Today I went to see if any more dragonflies were hatching, and noticed one of their carcasses still attached to a reed about a foot above the pond’s water.

I went to the car which was only ten yards away and brought out my camera to record the carcass. As I looked around me I spotted many red and blue damselflies which were flying about the pond and rather busy mating. Then a large dragonfly whizzed past me and circled the pond before landing on a water plant. I managed to get a good close-up but wanted to see if I could catch one in flight. That was more problematic as they are very fast fliers and turn really sharply in the air.

I was quite pleased when I finally managed to catch this dragonfly above the water. Surprisingly it was taken with my 100mm macro lens. I gather it is a very common male Broad-bodied Chaser.

Have a look at my earlier Blip, which shows a different dragonfly actually in the process of hatching at the same pond. This was on the day two years ago when Roger told me that they were there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.