A bird in the hand

Another warm day today - 22 degrees according to the car thermometer. A change from tomorrow onwards - dull, chance of rain, windy. I thought it was too good to last!

This morning Mrs M heard a bird hit the kitchen window. I went out to have a look and it was crouched on the path, wings spread out, eyes swivelling. I picked it up and it flew out of my hand up on to the bank where it sat for more than twenty minutes. Somehow Susie the cat got wind of it and I had to keep here away until it had gone. I think it was just stunned. Mrs M thought it was a juvenile bullfinch and so it proved to be.

Apart from that it's been another gardening day, I did a bit of weeding and planting on the bank below the house, pulling out all the foxgloves which will not be flowering this year. I'm planning to replace them all with the white variety which will take a while - I'll let the pink ones flower then take them our before they seed. My extra today is of the first batch of white foxgloves - it will be some time before they flower!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.