Mellow Yellow

Hanging onto a buttercup this female banded demoiselle showed off her true colours. Her metallic green body just caught the light and knowing she wasn't going to stay there long I scurried through the grasses to get a shot though she didn't like it, just lifting off after the shutter went. They know I think when they are being chased so I'd no chance of catching her.

Walking round Ripple lake near the River Severn there were flurries of damsels rising up from the vegetation especially as it was warm round midday. In the distance I could hear a cuckoo as I do every time I'm there and even saw it today which was a bonus. 

No club-tailed dragons today but some scarce chasers, loads of black-tailed skimmers, a four-spotted chaser and a few emperors patrolled the periphery in a territorial fashion. Everything is really taking off now by the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.