Sparkling in sunshine,

I can't believe we are still having sunshine. It's wonderful.  My house got thoroughly hoovered this morning.  I took glass to the recycling in the afternoon then went to Falkland Palace Gardens.  There were irises and bees around the formal ponds and I couldn't resist.  Lots of interruptions from other visitors so it was hard to concentrate.  No water lilies yet but a small white flower unknown to me. If anyone knows what it is please let me know.  The sun was striking the water and creating great bokeh.  I also had a go at capturing the tennis court swallows.  This is a real tennis court, the second oldest in Britain where Scottish royalty and their courtiers played.  There is a group of Falkland residents who still play real tennis there.  The swallows however like to build their nests  up near the ceiling in the viewing area and fly in and out the door to forage for insects.  Tourists going in and out are often oblivious to a swallow zipping past them in the doorway.  I always try to photograph them with no success.  Today's effort is my best so far.  Went inside to look at the nests.  Where there are young there is a box with newspaper on the floor beneath to catch the droppings. Couldn't see the young but one parent had its eye on the camera.  Went on the photograph peonies galore and some very exotic irises then came home for tea in the arbour having walked too far.  But I'll have to go back.  The gardens were designed by Percy Cane  after they had been "dug up for victory" during the Second World War.  They are being restored to his original design at present so it's interesting to see the changes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.