Gone Are the Dark Clouds...

...making today a bright sunshiny day...that ended with a gentle sunset..no gusty wind, rain or fog..just a softly tinted sky reflected in our calm and glassy back bay....sigh...perfect...

We got an early start and made good use of the change in the weather; my son-in-law rode off into the sunrise for a morning of fishing, my daughter and I read whilst drinking our morning coffee, preparations were then made for their departure, and once again I had the island to myself. 

It was so lovely to be able to sit on the dock in the sun again..and soak up not just the sun, but the peacefulness.. the silence broken only by birdsong and lapping waves, as midweek in June, there is not a lot of action going on around here - no fishing boats coming in and out of our back bay, no yachts coming in looking for an anchorage,  no jet-skis screaming by out front, no loud music wafting across the water from partying cottagers ....Mind you, we do have local pilots in their small aircrafts who use our front bay to practise their landings and take offs.. like today - but they usually only do two or three and then are gone ...no big deal..

So, an afternoon of quiet relaxation was had...oh, and a bit of bird-stalking with my camera. A phoebe has a nest under our eave and was out hunting food - not a good poser though - too busy flitting about, but still qualified for the extra..along with two hummingbirds in the pine tree, and aha! the resident heron! I took many shots of him again today but really do need to get a better camera ..But still, just watching the birds is fun even if the photos are less than perfect! 

Rain is forecast for tomorrow morning so I see more reading in the offing - which is fine as I brought two good books  - I will finish one with my morning coffee and start the other with a glass of wine in the afternoon! 

One does need a plan....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.