A BRIDGE TOO FAR

Blinkin' 'eck have you seen the cost of petrol!!!! I guess that's going to curtail some of my going out and about as that is way to expensive just for a day out.  Oh well I am lucky where I live as I can get to some amazing places in a relatively short drive.

Well it certainly is a week of technology for me this week.  A good day today though.

The weather was lovelyl this morning and I wanted to go into Wilkinsons in Kendal so the plan was to go for a riverside walk, take in a few of the bridges, the River Kent and whatever I see along the way.  Maybe even find Kendal Castle and go for a visit.

That was the plan.

On arriving in Kendal I headed straight for Wilkinsons.  Very helpful young man in there.  I explained I needed a new tripod and the type of things I like to shoot and do, emphasising that I had no intentjons of standing in the sea or going up high fells carrying tripods.  

He explained there were a few options suitable for my usage and my camera - and he didn't try to push the most expensive ones on to me.  He let me try a couple, showed me how to set up and explained their difficuilties as well as ther plus points.  So I selected the one I wanted, got a nice carrier bag to go with it and bought a spare battery (which I must remember to ensure is charged up). It was lovely.  It does make a big difference when you speak to and see a real person and they can demonstrate usage, it's the way it should be - well I suppose to be fair I' not onl old but old fashioned and I like good old fashioned service.  So that's my birthday present for later this month and for Christmas apparently all sorted out from Hubby.  He loves it when I choose something like that as he then doesn't have to go out and try and think of something!!!

After that I took my  purchases back to the car and then headed on down to the river. There are loads of roadworks going on over the bridges, United Utilities I think.  I was planning to stop at The  Riverside Cafe but it was already full, so I just pressed on.  I looked up and saw across the river and up the hlll inbetween builidings Kendal Castle - at long last.  How come I've never noticed it before!!!!

I had thought I would head for the bridge in the photo and cross over there, but the footpath towards it was closed off and I was directed round the back, so off I trot!!!  Well being me I got lost amongst some of the houses, chatted to a wee boy who I was concerned about because he seemed to be on his own, with no shoes on I asked if he was OK and he "yes thank you" then his parents appeared out of a house  down the road - phew.  They thanked me though so all was good.

So I abandoned the idea of the riverside walk for today and never made it to that bridge, hence the title.  I will go back when I can go straight there and the road works or bridge works or whatever is going on has finished.

I went into the 2 sisters for coffee, well apparenlty it's now called 2 friends so presumably the girls running it have bought it from the 2 sisters at Plumgarth???  

Kendal was now getting pretty busy.  I couldn't believe how many empty shops there are now, it's so ad to see that.  However there were still a lot of people about, loads of cafes, all looking fairly busy so I'm guessing it will pick up again one day in the future.

I then came home and go in ahead of the rain.  A pleasant day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.