A short hop

What a difference a day makes. Out to a calm sea - though one with a big swell running in from the NE. How I scooted along. So quickly that it seemed ridiculous to stop at Whitehills. I phoned ahead to Fraserburgh. A busy fishing harbour they keep one berth for yachtie scum y’see, and indeed I could have it provided I could clear off early doors. I could! Twenty minutes later, abreast of Whitehills, they called back. Tomorrow’s visitors had showed up early. So, that was sailing over for the day at 1pm. Ach, it’s a fine wee town. I got provisions in, had an ice-cream, wrote a postcard, sat in the sunny pub beer garden and had fish & chips sitting overlooking the sea. Even chatted to some teenagers catching crabs beside the boat. The old man of the sea, me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.