Backblip

Edit: I've changed the main photo for one of Mick identifying routes. We're thinking "How did he get there?" knowing we've got to follow.

Extra: not a great photo, taken by Richard, as it was against the light but at least it's got me in it, tying in before starting.

There was a good forecast all day for a change and so we set off for Sennen early, since we were going for a pub meal later and had been advised to get there for 5pm.

There was a horrible scramble down to the bottom of the routes we wanted to do, our choice being limited by the tide, which was on it's way in, and the grade since three of us wanted/needed easy to lead.

In the event, in spite of initially being very sure that I only wanted to second, I looked at the two routes and immediately wanted to lead them. 

The climbing was easy but massively enjoyable with great exposure, and the booming sound of the waves crashing below me was absolutely amazing! I haven't climbed in those conditions before and can understand why people love it.

I was using Richard's rack and I had a heart in my mouth moment halfway up when some of his nuts came off the carabiner. I think it was as I shook the bunch to separate the one I wanted, but luckily none of them dropped!

Two routes was enough for me after two days of walking, and with the tide fully in we couldn't reach the other easy routes round the corner anyway. We packed up and met Sue on the front for ice creams. A good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.