Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Staffordshire Ironman 70.3

L didn't have a good night, awake on many occasions with a hacking cough.  I was awake at about 4:30 am, possibly because of the light as L had left doors open, or more likely after another coughing fit.  I was heading for the spare room but when I saw how bright it was I got dressed and headed out for a walk.

It was as I was heading out that I remembered that the Staffordshire Ironman 70.3 triathlon was taking place today, starting at Chasewater.  I admit to being in awe of the competitors.  This isn't the short distance of the Olympics but a 1.2 mile swim in open water, followed by a 56 mile bike ride, culminating with 13.1 mile run.

As ever the start is the easiest area to photograph and I liked how I could capture some competitors entering the water, while others are waiting pensively in the background.  There are various methods to enter the water and this was one of the better attempts.  Plenty of belly flops because of the slipiness of the ramp into the water.

Other than that it was a quiet day.  We were due to have family around this afternoon but we contacted them in the morning and agreed to put it off for another day when L is feeling better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.