Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lavender

I dragged myself out of bed this morning to walk to the swimming pool and ended up doing another mile in the pool this morning.  I'm conscious that I'm doing this because I know it is doing me good, rather than enjoying the exercise.  This is quite surprising to me as previously I always enjoyed exercising, looking forward to my swims, or spin classes, etc.  I'm not quite sure why this should be the case, but at least I can see an improvement in my distances and times and as I get older I'm convinced that you either keep fit or grind to a halt.

It was sad to hear that one of the competitors at yesterday's triathlon fell ill during the swim and despite the best efforts of medical personnel, died later in hospital.  

I've only just got back to swimming a mile in the pool, but I'd be really apprehensive swimming 1.2 miles in cold, open water.  I'd noticed during the build up to the start that it had clouded over and the wind had picked up, causing the water to be quite choppy.  One of the legs was also into the wind making it even more of a challenge. 

We had a quiet day so I was limited to taking a few photos around the garden.  These lavender plants are just coming into flower in the front garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.