Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

So This Happened

Back in April we had to have our Swee'pea *put to sleep* because she had lost the use of her back legs and basically was in increasing pain and general discomfort. Since then The Husband has been obsessed with getting another dog. I was opposed. I felt that Bugsy, who had been our only dog for five years before Swee'pea arrived seven years ago, would be fine being an only dog again.

Welp. Today this happened. The Husband went in to the local SPCA - which he has done about twice a week for well over a month now - and came back with "Roxxy." Why two xxes - we have to ask. Who knows. But in any case, it appears we now have a new dogs. I love dogs in general, so I guess it'll be okay. But I do feel a little bit bullied into having something I didn't want but will inevitably be the one who has to do most of the stuff for.

She's eight years old and from what I can see from all the papers that came with her she's been at the shelter for quite some time. And was in fact returned to the shelter at some point after being adopted before? She also apparently was treated for heartworms. And it looks to me like she's got potentially wonky hips. Sigh. But - she's sweet! It'll be interesting to see how she is when she's not anxious about being in a new situation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.