Come Fly With Me

Three o'clock alarm and I was back again at dawn at Horn Mill Trout Farm ready or not for the next session hoping the ospreys would want a hearty breakfast.

By 4:40 both T7 and #30 had come in. They had neither of them messed around; dived in and caught their fish, then headed off. 

A passing cormorant had come in for a quick bite to eat as did a heron very early doors but after that it was all quiet and time to head off for my breakfast too which was a complete fandango with no breakfast set up which was paid for incidentally and a completely empty downstairs bar at 9:15. Calling out for anyone at all there was no-one in sight. An hour later by which time I was ravenous someone appeared and when I mentioned breakfast his eyes widened with surprise, 'Breakfast?!' I was obviously on another planet. Whilst waiting expectantly I was treated to the floor show -  the cleaner moving every chair in the restaurant, sweeping under the tables then mopping the floor round me. I love the smell of cleaning fluid with food.  Cheerily calling from right across the room the manager gave me a loud, 'All right darlin'?!' Hmm ...two hours sleep, tired, cold and hungry ... let me think about that one.

 No chance of any food for tonight when I get in either which is the trouble of doing late hide shoots plus I've strong expectations of the bed collapsing overnight if I turn over suddenly which could be fun. This beautiful country pub which I've stayed in forever has hit an all time low with the  new management.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.