Clipper Everyday to the left, note the unbleached, plastic free bags, and Twining Lady Grey to the right... with bleach and plastic :-(

I had an appointment with the Nurse at the surgery this morning*, so I was late getting to the MIND shop. But Julie is always pleased to see her volunteers no matter what time they turn up, especially so today because the Area Manager was due to visit. Panic Action stations!

*My appointment was a routine blood pressure review and I was supposed to have recorded my readings over the course of a week, only with going away I'd forgotten! So first thing this morning I took my bp and it was sky high, something like 188/97 so I didn't bother writing that down. An hour later, sitting watching Breakfast I took it again, 118/77... WHAT? I've never, knowingly, had bp that low, but I do get white coat syndrome and the medical profession will always take my readings twice.

Anyway, all was pronounced ok, apparently I'm normal according to my blood tests, although some would dispute that, and my bp reading was ok on the second take. Only the urine sample to test now.

Interestingly my total cholesterol count had gone up to 6.5 since before lockdown. In 2013 while I was in Spain my cholesterol was high, but it came down after changing my diet for a year - I didn't want to take statins - and since returning to the UK in 2014 it had continued to fall ending at 4.5. The Nurse said that, although the total was a bit higher now, it was mostly because the good cholesterol was so high so she wasn't concerned. But I can get it down again. I've been eating more butter, cake, meat and fewer nuts, and that's just off the top of my head. No one can convince me that the Spanish diet is good for cholesterol as there's too much ham, chorizo and other processed cold meats, and a fair bit of red meat. You may disagree.

Rwanda is not the answer, I disagree with the policy, but a solution is needed, we are too small.... aaahhhhh!!! (ducks behind settee!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.