Bed-ridden bird-watching

I have kept the curtains and shutters open all day today. This is to remind my body of the distinction between day and night and - I hope - help with sleeping tonight. Another advantage of this is that I have turned my bedroom into a wildlife hide! Today I have observed sparrows, chaffinches, robins, magpies, pigeons, bluetits and others helping themselves to the bird feed in our back garden. There is a chaffinch munching on mealworms in my blip.

I am still achy and my tinnitus seems even louder than yesterday, but the good news is that I am no longer counting the hours between doses of painkillers. I have also managed to pick up a couple of books. I finished Ghost wall by Sarah Moss (our June book group selection) and have made a start on Still life by Sarah Winman. I am also enjoying readings on Radio 4 of The social distance between us: how remote politics wrecked Britain by Darren McGarvey.

Mr hazelh is looking after me in a hands-off fashion. So far, he doesn't seem to have been afflicted by the lurgy.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.