Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Tall trees at Craigower

It's still scorchio in the Scottish Highlands. I struggled to sleep in the heat last night. (My efforts were probably not helped by the evening's over-consumption of a certain fizzy drink...)

This morning the four of us took a short, hot, walk from the house up to the summit of Craigower. Then, after lunch and some lounging about the house, we gathering up our togs for another trip to the loch and more outdoor swimming. Once again Mr hazelh and I swam to the third pine tree and back from the wee beach at Loch Faskally. It was wonderful.

Back at the house, I sat/lay on Winsford's balancier and read while T weeded his strawberry patch, and the other two studied Gaelic together. Then it was time for drinks, dinner, and another two games of Catan. I was relieved when T won the second game, not least because Mr hazelh won both games last night, and the first one this evening.

I took the photo of the trees during our walk this morning. As an extra, I have included a photo that one of my (former) colleagues sent me by email this afternoon. He has been tidying his office, and came across some old journal article drafts covered with my hand-written comments. I was really touched to read his comment on these: 'a real reminder of all the hard work that you put into mentoring and teaching me'.

Exercise today: 5.5 mile hill walk; 40 minutes of outdoor swimming (~ half a mile, 805 metres).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.