WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

I’m a Lucky Girl!

I’ve had a lovely relaxing birthday.
Frank’s gift to me was tickets for me and him to see The Spooky Men and a pair of binoculars so I could watch birds and wildlife, so after breakfast we walked to ‘the flashes’ which is an area in the fields that is prone to flash floods. There is always water there and lots of birds. It was lovely to spend some leisurely time just watching them. Though I need to get used to the binoculars as I tend to wobble them.

The rest of the day has been spent sitting in the sun, talking on the phone to well wishers and receiving this lovely gift from my dear friend Alison - thank you! (Blipper Greengirl) I have looked on youtube to see how to do it and can’t  wait to have a go! I also got gift cards - one from Sabrina, John and the girls and one from our old neighbour Christel in Dumfries.

It’s so warm today I’ve had my legs out again - 2nd time this year! 
I hope you’ve all had a sunny day too.
Now a bit of telly time. 
Two poems below.

Goodnight Blippers :-)X

164/365 
Birthday Girl

Sixty eight today
where have all those years gone?
I think my life has been ordinary
until I look back at all I’ve done.
Did I really do that scary thing,
did I turn my life upside down?
see those sights, hear the noises
which in my head still resound.
I travelled and saw the world,
worked and played in equal measure,
brought up three kids - did my best,
that was my greatest pleasure.
I have so much to look back on
and memories to cherish
but I look forward to future years 
with anticipation and relish.

           ~~~~~~~~

163/365 
Morecambe 1960

We’re on the train to Morecambe 
Nana, mum and us three 
we’ve got our bathing suits, 
buckets and spades,
banana butties and a flask of tea.
First we’ll go to Woolworth’s 
to buy a bottle of pop,
Nana buys us windmills 
and paper flags for 
our sandcastle tops.
We decorate our castles
with pebbles and cockle shells
but soon the tide is coming in
we gather our toys and
reluctantly say farewell
but the day is not yet over
for it’s off to Happy Mount Park
where we’ll follow the winding paths
to see fairy tales
all lit up in the dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.