Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Red Squirrel

Our last full day on Anglesey and we visited yet another new site for us - Cors Ddyga. No facilities, but a nice site, in great weather, with plenty to see, even if I didn't manage to photograph much of it. There were lots of large dragonflies buzzing around the ditches, but I wasn't patient enough to shoot them. We also saw lapwings, with chicks(distant), heard plenty of reed warblers, but most were well hidden, watched a pair of Marsh Harriers getting chased off by the lapwings and saw loads of small tortoiseshell butterflies, but not many other butterfly species, which was disappointing. We enjoyed our walk and when we returned to Henllys I went for a wander around the site. As well as the squirrels being quite active, I also saw the dragonfly in extras. I think it is a Golden-Ringed Dragonfly - I'm going for a female. I've never seen one of these before so it was great to be able to photograph it too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.