An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Decisions...decisions...

David had a dental appointment in St Andrews today and I planned to go with him on a little photography outing but the weather wasn't great so I didn't bother.

David spoke to Billy the painter yesterday and he's going to hand in a masonry paint colour chart so we can choose the colour we want for the house exterior.  It's currently Gardenia but I wondered if there's a shade that better matches the copes and quoins now they've been restored to their original colour.   I suspect we will end up going with Gardenia as the thought of getting it wrong terrifies me, but it won't hurt to have a look.  I am hoping when we see the chart the "right" colour will jump out at us, but I'm not holding my breath! :-)

After lunch my thoughts turned to my new painting commission.  

A friend has asked me to create a painting for a client of hers.  I don't know the client so this will be an interesting one, as I tend to have some connection with the person I am painting for.  My friend has given me a clear brief though, and I am looking forward to getting started.  Tight timescale on this one.

I started getting ideas down in my sketch book.  The painting will be turned into a birthday party invitation for 5 year olds but their mum wants the original painting framed, so it will be photographed and prints created to be made into invitiations.  This meant decisions had to be made this afternoon regarding what type of paper to use.  

I normally use 100% cotton, cold pressed watercolour paper as it absorbs the paint well and colours blend nicely, but it's textured so doesn't photograph well.  I felt I needed a smoother paper.  But which one?

I had fun trying out Arches 100% cotton hot pressed watercolour paper, Fabriano 100% hot pressed watercolour paper, and Strathmore mixed media paper.  At the moment the mixed media paper is in the lead with the Fabriano a close second.  Decision will be made tomorrow but I suspect I will go for the mixed media.

I've completed a rough outline sketch and tomorrow I will hopefully get the drawing done and start painting on Saturday.  Aiming.to have it finished by the start of the week.  Blipping my test doodles as it's the only photo I've taken today! 

Alan spent the day in Glasgow with Ally.  Treated himself to two new pairs of PJs and bought his dad a Father's Day gift.  I'm not allowed to know what it is! 

Is anyone still awake after reading all that?!  lol


*contemplates changing journal name to My boring life...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.