An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

I just know that something good is gonna happen...

Woke up to the sound of rain this morning.  Hard to believe that south of the border is basking in a heat wave!

At 8am, just as I was about to get up, David appeared in our bedroom holding a large white box.  I assumed it was more cakes from Tommy the Roofer's daughter and I inwardly groaned as after a month of eating too many goodies we are back behaving ourselves.  It wasn't cakes though...it was one cake.  A special cake and it brought a tear to my eye...

When Ally and Alan were heading out the other day, Tommy asked Ally what celebrities  / music Alan likes.  She told him McFly and Tess Daly.  Well he asked his daughter to make a cake for Alan and she made this fantastic fondant iced, Victoria sponge featuring McFly and Tess.  I was so touched by his and his daughter's thoughtfulness and kindness.  In a world where all the news is bad, this was a timely reminder that there are good and kind people in the world.

When I told Alan about the cake he was really excited (and a little confused.  I reassured him his birthday is still a couple of months away :-) and when he saw it he loved it!  So happy I managed to capture his reaction.  

David emailed the photos to Tommy who passed them on to his daughter and they are both delighted that Alan (and we) loved the cake so much.  Of course the irony is he won't eat any of it but that didn't diminish his joy at receiving it.  I asked him if he would like to share it with his team and us and he said yes.  Phew!  lol!  Don't ask me how I know, but I can tell you it tastes as good as it looks, although when I cut the fourth slice, poor Tess ended up with a frontal lobotomy and McFly are now a duo! :-)   

BTW I don't mean I had 4 slices, just I was the one doing the cutting! :-)

Spent a chunk of the afternoon on the under-drawing for the birthday party invitation I'm painting, then later on it was time to tune into the UK Top 40 countdown.  Can't remember the last time I did that.  Took me back to Sunday evenings in the 1980s tuned into Radio 1, waiting to find out who was No 1!  And my dream came true....my beloved Kate Bush did it!  It could have be 1985!

I've resisted letting my excitement over the last couple of weeks at the current global phenomenon that is Kate Bush's Running up that Hill spill onto my blip but after today's record breaking achievement by Kate, I can contain myself no longer!  :-)) 

Thanks to the Netflix drama Stranger Things featuring the song, the world has gone gaga for the song and Kate.  

The BBC reports "It is currently the most-streamed song in the world, with more than 57 million global plays last week.
On TikTok, videos featuring the #RunningUpThatHill hashtag have been viewed more than 530 million times.
And in addition to the UK, the song is number one in Norway, Sweden, Australia, Switzerland, The Netherlands and Austria, while giving Bush her first ever top 10 hit in the US."

To quote a Kate song...WOW! 

I am so excited for all those new to her work who are about to go on a massive voyage of discovery.  Open your ears and buckle up...you're in for the ride of your life! :-)))

Of course we had to open a bottle of bubbly to celebrate this amazing news.  Champagne, cake and Kate!  What a perfect day! :D 

I can't help myself :-)  You're welcome :D 

PS Kate, on the trillion to one chance you ever read this blip PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE release the videos of the Before the Dawn concerts!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.