An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Creative space...

I woke at 5am to the sound of rain thundering down.  By 6am the sun was shining (the front of this lovely little studio faces due east) and any sign of rain had gone.  The ground was bone dry.

We had a wonderfully relaxing morning.  Tesco delivery arrived just after 9am. D drank coffee in the garden, I  finished unpacking then for lunch David nipped across the road to The Stalls Cafe and brought back freshly made BLT and roast beef & horseradish sandwiches for lunch.  Delicious.  Oh and he also picked up a slice of lemon drizzle loaf and a blondie.  I suspect we will pay a few visits there! :-)

After lunch we started to go through the pile of information leaflets and make a note of all the places we would like to visit and things we'd like to see.  A car pulled up while whilst we were in the middle of this and a very smiley and friendly lady got out.  Turned out to be Gillie, owner of the Calf Shed.  She'd popped in to make sure we were settled and to see if we had any questions.  

We chatted for a fair bit and she told us about converting the Calf Shed to the stunning studio it is now.  Fascinating to hear the reasons behind the conversion and why they made it such an accessible property.

We were sitting at the table that I plan to use as my art table while we're here (and indeed I have now made it so and it's my blip :-) and after she gave us loads of information about places to visit, I mentioned that I paint and although I am keen to visit places, the views from the Calf Shed are so lovely, it will be hard to tear myself away from the paints.  She then proceeded to tell us that during lockdown, a well known artist (world- renowned!) and his wife stayed here and he painted from that very spot!  As well as the paintings he was working on for an exhibition, he also painted twelve watercolours of the view as he was so taken with it.  

Apparently she brought him a large pasting table to give him extra painting surface and said she'd be happy to drop it round for me to use.  I assured her that I would not be painting on that scale so there would be no need :-)  But I am massively excited by the fact I am sharing the creative space of a  artist whose work is exhibited all over the world! 

She left when a massive tractor appeared outside and couldn't get passed her car.  Turns out it was her husband!  :-)

After she'd gone we went for a little explore of the area, heading first to the little village of Tisbury, which is the largest village in the Nadder Valley.  There's a 12th century church in the centre of the village which apparently has a yew tree that's over 4000 years old!  Bit like the yew tree at Fortingall at home in Perthshire.  The post box also had a crochet topper on it (in extras) so that endeared the place to me even more :-)

We drove through very narrow country roads to get there and passed so many beautiful cottages.  Breathtakingly beautiful with roses round the door, thatched roofs and stunning gardens.  I took many shots of the leafy lanes as we drove and will probably end up with a whole photo album just of leafy lanes!  

We came back to the Calf Shed via Shaftesbury so we could get fuel for the car, then home for a beef stir fry and G&T sitting in the garden.  As the front of the little house is due east,  the back is due west so the patio and garden get the sun all evening.  Perfect.  

Eventually I came inside and got my painting kit set up on the table.  I hadn't planned on painting this evening as I was shattered and wanted to get my feet up and just relax but I just couldn't resist doing a quick loose colour study in my little sketch book (in extras)  

This corner really is the most inspiring place to sit and paint!  I can't wait to get my teeth into a bigger painting!  Hopefully tomorrow :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.