Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hexham Book Festival - Peter Hain

I had quite an easy day today. The bathroom is cleared ready for the replacement toilet, coming tomorrow. I've waited a long time for this so I'll believe it when it is fitted and operational!

I popped into town for a few things ready for Sandra's visit tomorrow. I also went to see Dennis who is 90 today. You will no doubt see photos from his party on 18th (I'm the official photographer.)

Tonight I heard Peter Hain talk about his book A Pretoria Boy.  Of course I am old enough to remember the anti apartheid demonstrations of the 60s and 70s. I was still at school in the 60s. 

He spoke about his upbringing and then how the family had to leave South Africa because his parents were banned and his father was not given any work. He seems very benign for the firebrand I remember, but when he talked about the changes to the Northern Ireland agreement, you could tell that his passion and anger still burn bright.

We chatted about Botswana when he signed my book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.