Scorchio!

Phew, what a scorcher! After a warm night where it was difficult to sleep, I got up just after 6am and it was still nearly 19C. A sunny and windy day, the max temp was 30.7C at 5pm and it's not going to cool down until after midnight. Fortunately this is a short, sharp heatwave that is breaking down tomorrow. I had my burglar alarm service booked for 8am. As they need good access to all doors and windows, I also use take the opportunity to take down the voiles and wash them and clean the inside of the windows. I think the voiles were pretty much dry by the time I'd hung them out! I'd done two cycles of washing voiles, dried them, cleaned windows and ironed and put back the voiles at the 3 front windows by 12:45! I then had to have lunch and get ready for our U3A photo group meeting, so the others can wait to be ironed and put back until tomorrow morning. 

We had a wonderful speaker today who was so happy to share his advice and tips on photographing wildlife and how to make it easier. I must read up about back button focussing now! I'd previously bought a couple of his aluminium prints https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2936706686066363957

Interesting news today that 7 bee-eaters have been spotted in North Norfolk, now that would be a blip! Of course, it also means bad news in terms of climate change that they're beginning to appear. 

Day 820 / Day 111 of no Legal Covid Requirements in England (for my record only)
The weekly ONS infection survey up to 11th June showed rates up 43% from the previous week with 1 in 45 with the virus across the UK. There's an estimated 1 in 50 in England (up); 1 in 30 in Scotland (up); 1 in 45 in Wales (up) and 1 in 45 in NI (up). It's still thought that recent rises are being driven by BA.4 and BA.5 subvariants of Omicron which are spreading more easily, partly due to waning immunity and partly due to genetic mutations. Research by King's College shows that Omicron is less likely to cause long COVID than the Delta strain. A separate study by Imperial College suggests that being infected by Omicron does not provide much immune protection from being infected again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.