Back blip for my 3000th

Last night we stopped at Karlu Karlu (pron “Gull oo” aka Devils Marbles) just south of Tennant Creek where we are getting new tyres for the van. The old ones looked ok with good tread but had worn on the sides. The guy at the tyre place said they were ‘shit tyres’. I’m posting this while I sit in the car in the workshop while I have some internet. 

 Devils Marbles are just north of Wycliffe Well ( the UFO capital of Australia) ( I didn’t see any). I notice the names of places here relate to water sources, springs, wells, creeks. It was the most important thing when they named these places.

The Marbles are in their thousands across a shallow valley. Some are as big as houses. They are amazing and feature on many postcards of the Northern Territory.

Today we head further north and this is the only town as such. Yesterday we passed a couple of roadhouses, 1 set of cattle yards, and to my surprise a large table grape farm near TiTree. It was once the second biggest horticultural business in the territory. Most of the time there is no radio or phone service. 

Heading off so no time to say the usual things about anniversaries etc. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.