Moon

I was too embarrassed to put another rock photo in so I’ll add some for the extras ( evening and morning). These are the Devils Marbles (Karlu Karlu in the Northern Territory). I took the moon when I was out just before dawn. 

The other extra shows where we are tonight, some termite mounds and the road, going off into the distance. Most of the day was driving across the Barkly Tableland, a land with gentle low hills. We are staying in a tiny town called Elliott which has the most run down caravan park I’ve seen but it has water, electricity, peacocks and a kitten. What more do you need? There are buildings falling down and the toilet block is a luminous yellow colour. 

This town is on the southern end of a cattle station called Newcastle Waters. It was 30,000 square kilometres and used to carry 45,000 head of cattle ( Brahman). One of Australia’s richest men, Kerry Packer, was an owner and his son James was sent here after school to be a Jackaroo for a year. I don’t think he enjoyed it much as he sold it after his father died. It has now returned to the traditional indigenous people. 

Thanks for the comments, stars and hearts for my 3000th blip for yesterday which I posted at lunchtime today. I really enjoy the Blipfoto community. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.