Caterpillar Race

In these days of Health and Safety, it is good to know that some traditional pursuits such as the Caterpillar Race can still continue at our Village Gala.  Gone are the Fell Race and the pillow fight on the greasy pole but this daft race goes on!

After RDing at a lovely, sunny Parkrun this morning, it came as something of a shock to spend several hours on the Harden Green Action Group Stall in a chilly wind tunnel this afternoon!  We managed to persuade quite a lot of gala goers to make green pledges on paper leaves which we attached to the tree overhanging our stall gazebo.  The only thing I always enjoy at this annual event is catching up with folks that I only seem to see on this one day of the year.  I chatted with blippers Airedaleknitter, JeanneB53 and Yorkshirebred, and saw Corinthian and AuntieP at a distance.

Back home it was a welcome cuppa and in to a hot bath to remove the chills before dinner and preparation of cheese and carrot puffs for tomorrow's street get together.  I think I will sleep tonight, especially as I'm enjoying a glass of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.