SuffolkBumble

By SuffolkBumble

Camino Day 5: The Way flooded

O'Cebreiro to Triacastella - JBD = 21.3km

In the albergue the night before there was an excerpt from a book on the wall. This is what it said on the sign:

Billy Collins
Walking Across The Atlantic

I wait for the holiday crowd to clear the beach
before stepping onto the first wave.

Soon I am walking across te Atlantic
thinking about Spain,
checking for whales, waterspouts.

I feel the water holding up my shifting weight.
Tonight I will sleep on its rocking surface.

But for now I try to imagine what
this must look like to the fish below,
the bottoms of my feet appearing, disappearing.

From The apple that astonished Paris (1988)


What a premonition that was. Today it rained. Dear God did it rain!

The stream in the photo was not there before the water came tumbling from the sky and, I hope for the people of the area, is not there now. It rained so hard that we had to make an unscheduled stop in a random cafe to dry ourselves off and there was even talk of stopping here for the night if it didn't relent. But a hot chocolate for some, ice cream for me (Magnum's First Kiss - oh my goodness gracious that thing is tasty!), sorted us out and we soldiered on to Triacastella - the town named for three castles, none of which stand now. Personally I think they may have been washed away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.