Sunday

The forecast said rain but it didn't. 

We went walking with our friends, Ed, Kate and their dog, Daisy. They live in a village on the edge of the Plain. The red flags were flying so we had to keep to the paths. 

Kate and her cousins inherited several properties in the village a few years ago.  She kept pointing them out to me. (All massive!) They chose to make a home from a converted stable block. Very quirky and not pretentious but it came with an enormous garden. The main house, alongside, was the home of her grandparents. Kate pointed out the house in which her great grandmother was born in. Every part of the village had a connection with her family history which I found fascinating.

Ed keeps bees. They have 6 hives. I told him all about the recent swarm at Nigel's house. He gave me a jar of his honey (rapeseed) and has invited me to dress in all the gear, later this summer, when he opens the hives.   Maybe I'll get into it and keep bees too. I have the space!

Tea in their garden and then home again.

Happy Father's day all! Extra of Dad and Nigel Malta 1965.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.