What is says

No WiFi or mobile connection so postings may not be on the day.

24c when we left Maidstone, 11c when we arrived in Chirk. From sun to heavy rain at the marina. It’s 5 years since our last canal adventure on the Kennet and Avon.

M1 was a pig most of the way. M6 through Birmingham better than I expected. Shropshire lovely, we stopped for a late lunch at the cricket ground in Wellington where I spent many of my formative years.

Despite the inclement weather a match was in progress and I talked to a couple of chaps who I used to play with when we were all young men. All in the shadow of the house where I grew up and where my parents lived from 1959 until 2009.

We collected narrowboat Penny, bundled everything aboard, were subjected to a torrent of information and set off downhill (yes, this canal has a current) towards Ellesmere passing through a tunnel and across the amazing Chirk aqueduct eventually ending up near the Bridge Inn on the England - Wales border.

After mooring we unpacked everything, finding homes for clothes, food, drink, bags, boxes before relaxing after quite a tiring day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.