Transmission mode only..

By Mobius

Progress???

The remnants of our old village green, which currently has wild flowers and grasses and a native trees and mixed hedgerow.


Wellness (Despair/Anger/Fairness) 
I will lighten my content soon, but this is my own memo / journal and part of what I am etc..

The most prominent thing on my mind is the single option presented by our parish council to "improve" this small space without any upfront idea of what the majority of people want. With a £10k raid from a local trust, plus volunteer work, they propose a more formal hard landscaped garden by with column feature in the middle, non-native (housing estate style) hornbeam hedge.

Many people I have spoken to have a similar vision to me of a much more natural vibe in keeping with our surrounding landscape, increasingly peoples own gardens and using native plants and hedgerow. Also the existing vibe of our village.

They are currently refusing to present the village with different designs, or even as what vision/vibe they want for the space.

I've previously tried to keep out of the debate, for my mental health, as the parish council are notoriously secretive, obstructive and uncooperative.

However I find much comfort from nature and the views of local families with small children and the only wheelchair user, who regularly walk past and occasionally actually use the space have so far been rebuffed with invalid/ inconsistent arguments to me.

I'm all for improving it, but not without properly asking the village. In essence it's a difference in taste (vibe/vision) at the heart this, which they refuse to acknowledge.
    ~
Pleased with a productive day - exercise and tasks-wise and our sons happy having just arrived and seen his villa.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.