Office

This was our spare room and office in the loft. After over a year of painful building work the old extension is almost habitable and will be contain our spare room in future. Thus the office can now expand out to fill the space left by the bed. As you can see there are plenty of things still in boxes and dust sheets still cover almost as many things as the dust does, but it's progress. My desk is the cantilever job to the right that we got when we first moved back to England, it's over 20 years old and has moved around with us quite a lot. The one to the left is for my wife and is from her family, it's more modern and made from nice wood, but like a lot of computer desks is overly complex and fussy and I much prefer my simple desk.

The pendant light is a repurposed John Lewis shade we bought for out kitchen in England. It's in a style of a Poulsen PH5, but no way near as nice or as expensive. It does however work very well and produces a nice diffuse light that doesn't glare. However my wife has decided (after I installed it) that she want it in the dining room - where we need four shades. He reasoning is that as we have a pair of these, we can get a pair of something else and that won't look too bad. I will have to make do with something else - we've a load of lamp shades from England we're not using. I don't like most of them or they are not appropriate for the office, so I think I'll buy another one like this. During the summer it's not that important but in winter I'm in the office all day and it can be dark, so I need a non glaring light source.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.