Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Trust me

I'm afraid you're going to have to take my word for this, but these are European Bee Eaters.  Many people will have seen the news item that a family of European Bee Eaters had moved into a quarry near Cromer.  The RSPB are monitoring them so today we went over for a look.  We've seen bee eaters before when we were in Africa but they are an incredibly rare visitor to the UK.  They were lovely to see, albeit they were at a distance so with my lens I had no chance of getting any decent shots of them.  Through binoculars though, I could see them clearly and even watched one swoop down into the quarry and come up with something, presumably a bee, in it's beak.

I've added an extra which shows a little bit of their colour but it is cropped down to only about 5% of the original image.  If you want to see what they really look like, click on the link; they're gorgeous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.