The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Summer solstice

A hot day in the office with few windows, and none through which I can see out. I went to the park at lunchtime and sat near the lake, but there were too many rats scampering around looking at me, so I retreated to higher, drier ground, apparently rodent free.

In the evening my friend K. popped round for a midsummer walk. We drove to the end of Summer Street, which overlooks the Slad Valley, and walked the rest of the way to Swift's Hill, a local vantage point. We sat and chatted and drank gluten free lager, and eventually noticed the sun going down. Strolled back the way we had come. There was no singing or wild drumming or any of the things K was half expecting. ( I kind of dread the open air party season here, because it's led to some excesses in the valley behind our house, with kids being tasered or hit in the face with broken bottles, and loud drunken staggering up the path at 4am. A few years ago we had to have the police out fairly often).

Tonight, however, was quiet and mellow. I must now go and shut the cat flap as Indie is showing signs of waking up and going out on the Ran Dan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.