Teignmouth, Devon

I got up at 6.30 am and Dad took me to Dorking Station. I was off to Teignmouth to see Granddad.

Almost five hours of train ride later, I arrived in a blustery and soggy Teignmouth. I had a mooch around the shops and then took some photos down by the Promenade.

Then I bought some flowers and went to see Granddad. I haven't seen him for 6 years and he's become a very frail and tired old man during that time. Gran passed away four years ago and he misses her terribly.

This is the view he has from his lounge window and is also the place where Gran's ashes were scattered, out to sea.

I spent just under two hours with him, talking about this, that and the other, before kissing him, hugging him and telling him that I love him.

I left the flat in tears; at 91, he just wants to be with his wife who he has loved since he was 17.

Then I had a bite to eat and headed back to the station to catch my train back to Surrey.

Dad picked me up at 10.40 pm and took me back to their house.

It's been an emotional day and a tiring one; but I'm so glad I made the effort.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.