This is the day

By wrencottage

New Growth

This morning I finally managed to do the dead heading of all the roses in the front and back gardens, and it gave me enormous pleasure to remove all the decaying blooms and make room for the new growth. I came in after several hours feeling very satisfied. There is an added bonus to dead heading in the front garden, in that people often stop for a chat! I met a new(ish) neighbour from a few houses away, who was walking past with her sister, and it was good to meet her because she moved in to the road shortly before lockdown, and so she hasn’t met many people in the road yet.

This afternoon I spent quite a long time using Affinity Photo to titivate the photographs in the order of service that I’ve typeset. They weren’t the best quality for reproduction, so I’ve had to do a bit more learning about dodging and burning (don’t ask!) and have lightened them up quite a bit so they won’t look too dark. 

Otherwise, nothing to show for my day’s work, so instead I’ve taken a photo of a new baby card I made for our gardener’s wife a few days ago – more new growth! – and which I shall give to him on Friday.  The pram was die cut out of holographic card which is notoriously difficult to photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.