A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

St George in the village.

One Street 14

This is one of the 19th century cottages in Long Lane the main artery of our village and the street I have featured in my "One Street" series.

Today I had other plans for a blip but at 11.00 am I had an appointment, just a few buildings down from here below the Pub, for a pedicure. This entails wearing flip flops and as it is still quite cool I was struggling to keep them on. A trip into the woods looking for spring flowers or any where involving walking was out of the question. So, setting off a little early I was heading to the top of this road where I know there used to be one of the villages many pubs.

Before I got there this tribute to our patron saint caught my eye and as I was able to take it from the (parked) car it suited my purpose perfectly.

If you look closely you will also see a rather nice Art Nouveau style door. It is called Studio Cottage as just to the left below the steps is another house called The Studio. This used to be a bakers many years ago and although I don't remember it I do know that my parents considered buying it at the end of the war as they were both qualified confectioners.
Needless to say that didn't happen and I was born in the next village over the hill.

Happy St George's Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.