pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Agony of Silence and The Gift of Perspective

If you want to gaslight an anxiety sufferer, spend a period of time speaking to them on an almost daily basis and then on a crucial day to both parties, suddenly go silent and ignore their attempts at communication.

That has been my Wednesday.

I presented terms on the big renewal I have been working on yesterday and was assured by the other party that they would be “back to me by lunchtime” with their decision. Lunchtime came and went (it even featured a cheeky 5k run as I sought to burn off some nervous energy) without contact or response to a call or email.

Silence is rarely our friend in these sales type situations. Many is the time that a lot of hard work and relationship building has gone by the wayside following a last minute intervention from a third party. I feared that today was going the same way and was concerned as this client pays a few people’s wages in the business, but as I paced and talked to my boss on an evening wander, I found myself by the parish church which continues to fly the Ukrainian flag.

One glance at that now very familiar blue and yellow image gently fluttering on a hot evening and I was instantly granted the gift of perspective.

My boss and I agreed that whether the client stayed or left, one thing was for certain that whatever happened, the sun would still rise tomorrow. It was a good conversation.

And wouldn’t you just know it? The client called late evening to thank me for my efforts, asked a couple of questions and then gave me the go ahead to proceed.

:-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.