pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Red Door

Stress levels were peaking today.

Day four of no internet connection and no visit from an engineer in the fabled 7am-1pm time slot. Fortunately, I was finally able to get the work hotspot working and could at least keep on top of emails.

In the meantime, Cliff (the painter) continued his good work on tidying up the windows whilst I worked away and then in the afternoon, a tattooed child arrived to install a new front and back door for me. Initially sceptical of his youth and therefore lack of experience, I was forced to chow down on that scepticism as he did a fantastic job of installing both doors without any assistance and then left my place arguably cleaner than he had found it!

Externally, my house feels completely transformed. Gone is the peeling paintwork, conservatory front door and hideous green paint and in its place….well, what you see here!

I took The Youngest to her piano lesson (and promptly forgot to pay) and on my return the neighbours were all sitting out on the street having a drink. It was no hardship to join them and enjoy the perfect temperature sunshine as I looked back on my house.

Even got to have a little kick about with the neighbour’s children!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.