pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Fifth Day

And still no internet connection at home.

The shakes started to develop as withdrawal from casual content consumption kicked in. I was left with no option but to attend the office for a second time in a week.

For a Friday, it was a surprisingly bleak, joyless place with tired faces and half-hearted attempts at banter swilling around in the ether. With a lot to do, I went full ignoramus by plugging in my headphones and letting the majesty of Ludovico Einaudi wash me away.

The day flew by as I worked straight through - even forgetting to stop for lunch, I never do that - pulling together the details of a complex case and boiling it all down to something approaching plain English. With a final few tweaks from my manager, it was completed and off to the client before the day was out, just as I had promised.

I should have turned off at that point and headed for home, but despite my desire to avoid the machinations of internal politics, I received a badly timed and ill informed message which gave me a final nudge into the “I think I’ve had enough of this now” category and prompted a swift call to my boss to let him know that things needed to change.

The day finished on a good note though with the return of the offspring and a prolonged hug with The Eldest who has really been through the mill lately. The wee ones embraced her too and for a moment all was fine…..until they realised that there would be no internet this weekend.

Hopefully the Domino’s blow-out will help ease the pain a little.

And no, it’s not another emergency blip of the inside of my bedside light, it’s a photographic representation of the stoicism of the modern middle aged male. 

So, nurr!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.