The second half of life..

By twigs

From freezing to fallen

Happy Matariki everyone :)  It was our nation's first Matariki holiday today, a day that will now be celebrated annually. With the holiday now being recognized across New Zealand, we've been seeing, reading and hearing a lot of media snippets created to teach us all about why Matariki holds such great significance in Maori culture.  I've realized I know very little about Matariki myself and I've been enjoying the chance to learn more.

After the last few days freezing weather the forecast was for rain, and they were right.  All day - nothing heavy or stormy, just persistent and wet.  Was going to play golf with M this afternoon but we cancelled that plan mid-morning.  H the house-sitter came round to go over final plans and details.  All is good on that front.  More van packing and sorting done - I'm feeling surprisingly in control.  Fingers crossed it lasts.

This fly agaric was growing in the front lawn but I noticed today that it had fallen over.......or maybe kicked over as I was passing sometime........or maybe a certain 4-pawed fur-gurl pushed it over?  However it fell I rather liked its form.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.